C’est la vie

Not that I wanted to start this blog on a dire note, but when I created this blog and was thinking about what to write first, something came up that postponed my writing for a while. And that something was death.

Someone relatively close to me died and that inevitably got me thinking about life and death and how they are related. As the saying goes, only two things in life are certain – death and taxes. And I would even go as far as to say that the only thing that is really certain in life is death. 
It is such a natural part of life, yet something that is taboo to talk about, that brings great sadness to those dying and to those left behind. Yet it is something we have to find a way to deal with somehow.
This can also depend on if you are a spiritual person and you believe that life after death exists, or something higher exists, or God exists, this can make things easier. 
Sometimes, believing that it was just meant to be helps. It helps with niggling questions such as, ‘if he went to the hospital earlier he could have lived’ or ‘if the doctors made the correct diagnosis earlier, he could have lived’, or ‘if he didn’t do such a stressful job, he could have lived’ and so on.
I personally believe that God does exist and that there is something there after death, but what, I don’t exactly know. I guess we will only find out what there really is after death only when we do die. Some believe in nothingness, some in reincarnation, some believe in heaven, some in entering a spiritual realm or all together!

But for now, we shouldn’t think about death we should focus on the here and now – on life.
To do all we can for those we care about and to make the most of our life here, because it really is short and despite what we believe comes after this life, we should do our best now, to have a peace of mind and no regrets about how we lived our lives. As usual it is easier said then done! But good luck to everyone of us in this task. And from now on I will just focus on writing about life….
And just a thought to end with – a motivational book I once read, advised that whatever you want to do in life, don’t wait for anything, just ‘DO IT NOW!’
Goodnight…
About Maia

My name is Maia, I live in London, UK, and I originally come from the Czech Republic. Maia's World is my blog where I write about life in general, personal development, and about ideas, beliefs and discoveries on how to live a fuller life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

