Finding a balance

Hello everyone,

So here I am again after a 2 week pause. Did you miss me?
I was thinking what to write for this week’s blog, and I thought I should better follow up on how my vegan/ethical closing experiment went, or rather didn’t go…
Well to be fair I managed to be strictly vegan and eat no sugar, white flour or alcohol for a whole 10 days and I managed to be intermittently vegan for 16 days and finally to have no sugar or alcohol for 18 days.
So as you can see my standards started slowly slipping, until they were, well, gone. Especially so after today’s dinner tasting for a work event.
But what have I learnt? Well, I have learnt a few things from this experiment. I learnt that my willpower isn’t that great. But, in my head I kept thinking what’s the point of being vegan if I am not going to keep it up afterwards? Surely I should be eating in a way that I can sustain as a lifestyle. I however did feel very good and lost quite a bit of weight while I was vegan. I dropped 2 kilos in those two weeks. I felt that eating vegan was cutting out almost all the fat from my food, which is probably why I lost weight, as apart from nuts and vegetable oil, my food was fat free.
What didn’t help either in keeping my vegan diet was that people kept telling me about how soya is bad for you, so I didn’t feel comfortable eating that either.What I also felt was that by being vegan and cutting out sugar, and white rice and flour, it was so hard to go out to eat or accept invitations to friend’s dinner parties. The only time we did go, I ended up eating something with egg in by accident and ended up not going to barbecue because I felt I wouldn’t be able to resist the food. 
I learnt that while I can’t be completely vegan, I am definitely cutting down on the meat I eat weekly. We used to eat meat almost every day, now it’s about twice a week. It’s also just chicken and fish, and no red meat. I have been eating less dairy, as that is also bad for you apparently. So less yoghurts, and only having a bit of organic milk in my tea and coffee.
After this experiment, I now feel that I can keep a more balanced diet, which is more appropriate for my lifestyle. While I do respect vegans immensely, I’m afraid I just don’t have the dedication to do it.
Also, in my earlier post, I wrote about how I was going to try and just buy ethical clothing – the experiment went something like this: I ordered lots from People Tree (an ethical, organic, etc. clothing company), didn’t like any of it, sent it back and had to pay £5 postage for this. The clothes which looked good online, didn’t really fit the bill (or me) when they arrived. The sizes were too large, some of the cuts were strange, and I just couldn’t be bothered to exchange them for smaller ones, as they weren’t that great anyway. If they had fit I would have probably kept some of them, but I didn’t want to risk paying another return charge by asking for an exchange. I might give them another chance in the future and order smaller sizes. The problem seems to be also the fact that as the clothes are only on-line, it’s harder to get it right. If there was a physical shop where one could try things on beforehand it would be much better.
A phrase which came to my mind a few times while I was doing these experiments was ‘ignorance is bliss.’ If I hadn’t ready so much about how animals are treated badly in farms and how workers in developing countries suffer while making cheap clothes and farmers get poisoned from farming chemically treated cotton, I just wouldn’t have cared, ate my food, wore my clothes and would have been happy.
But then again, the key word here is balance. We need to act on our knowledge but achieve an equilibrium we are happy with. Balance is probably the key lesson I take away from this experiment. It was perhaps obvious to start with, but sometimes one has to go through certain situations to remind themselves of the obvious. Well for me at least this has been the case.
So wishing you lots of positive balance in all areas of your life. Have a great weekend!
Love,
Maia
About Maia

My name is Maia, I live in London, UK, and I originally come from the Czech Republic. Maia's World is my blog where I write about life in general, personal development, and about ideas, beliefs and discoveries on how to live a fuller life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

