What’s your dream job?

Is it being an actor, a writer, a painter, photographer, musician a teacher, scientist or do you aspire to have your own business? And are you living your dream in some way? A question that I have always asked myself is, can one really make a living pursuing their dream, or is this just reserved for a chosen talented few? Is the a dream of pursuing your dream, just that  – a dream? Something which is unrealistic?

Most people do not love their work, they might like some aspects of it, or they might just tolerate it, because of the income it brings in. The fact is however, that most people do not do their dream job. The problem with dream jobs seems to be that they are mostly in the creative arts, and most people don’t dream about being administrators or shop assistants, in fact the majority of ‘normal’ jobs are not jobs most people dream of doing as their life’s purpose. They might dream of doing them to make enough money to live their lives, but mostly are not as inspired by the actual jobs themselves. A lot of people don’t even entertain the notion of having a dream job, as they would argue this is not practical. Jobs are not meant to be a dream, jobs are jobs and they are there to simply make money.

A question that has been in my mind is, should one pursue their dream job no matter what it takes, even if it means working for free or getting paid next to nothing while working your ass off, or should one just be sensible and take a job, that one might not love, but that has good prospects, brings in money at the end of the month and just stick to doing the things one likes as hobbies? And furthermore, do most of us know what our dream job actually is? I have had vague notions of being a model or a famous singer when I was younger and thought that would be my dream job, but those were just my ideas, not my experiences, which can be very different.

In search of my dream job I often changed my paths. I dabbled in journalism for a while, where I enjoyed finding out new things all the time, while researching my articles, however I felt that what I want to write is driven by the publication I am writing for and not what I actually want to write about. I found that being a journalist is hard work, with lots of competition and it’s quite hard to make decent money from it. I also tried working in production, which I also found was full of interns who were willing to work for free, something which I simply couldn’t afford to do. But maybe if I had pursued more, I would have got somewhere?

Apart from these, I have tried English and aerobics teaching and translation, all of which I realised are probably not ideal jobs for me either. I am now an event organiser in London, organising financial conferences. I do enjoy some aspects of this job, like the satisfaction when the event goes well, meeting new people and generally just making the event happen. Since working in events, I have realised how much planning and preparation goes into them, whereas before, if I’d show up to an event, it just seemed to flow so naturally and looked like a it must have been a piece of cake to organise, but actually it isn’t, it’s lots of hard work and planning that goes into it.

Another option is as the motivational speaker and successful entrepreneur Jim Rohn said, ‘work full-time on your job and part-time on your fortune.’ If you feel like your dream job is not the job you are doing right now, then start pursuing your dream job in your spare time. For example devote at least 30 minutes every day or a few hours at the weekend taking singing lessons, writing that novel, taking a course, if you want to re-qualify or starting up a business plan and if it is meant to be then hopefully you will attain your goal, quit your job and start doing what you love full time. Or you might realise that this job isn’t for you and is not actually your dream job, once you start looking deeper into it and what it involves. James Altucher in his blog, suggests that if you are unhappy in your job, quit, and find clients that you can provide a service to and become your own one man business.

What is your dream job? Are you doing it now? Did you give up your day job to pursue your dream? Or do you think that having a dream job is not realistic and that we should just stick to our passions as hobbies? I’d love to hear what YOU think.

Peace,

Maia

About Maia

My name is Maia, I live in London, UK, and I originally come from the Czech Republic. Maia's World is my blog where I write about life in general, personal development, and about ideas, beliefs and discoveries on how to live a fuller life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What’s your dream job?

  1. Avenging North says:

    Honestly, as I work with my high school students to help them find their dream jobs, I find myself wishing more and more that I had left more time for myself to explore my other interests besides teaching. I’ve spent the past seven years furthering my education and taking on extra responsibilities in my teaching career at the expense of relationships, friendships, and my hobbies and passions. The research I’ve been doing and the discovery of blogs like yours has helped remind me that it’s never too late, and so I’ve started making more of a conscious effort to make time to follow my heart and write fiction and music. Thank you for sharing your experience!

    • Maia says:

      Thank you for your comment Avenging North. Yes I guess so many of us are trying to figure out what to do with our lives…I hope that we all find it soon!

Leave a Reply

