Achieving your goals in 2012

It’s the New Year again, a time of resolutions and new hope for the coming year or years.

Celebrating the New Year

In some ways I do not like the actual New Year’s celebrations, because there is such pressure to do something and to have a good time.

Quite often my mentality has been, it’s New Year’s so what…why should I take it to be a different day to any other? Why should I conform to social pressure and go out of my way to have a good time and pay extortionate prices for New Year’s eve parties and drinks or crowd in the cold with rowdy drunkards watching the fireworks and risk having someone throw a firework or glass bottle on my head in the meantime. No thanks, I’d rather stay at home.

A few times I had stayed at home and didn’t organise anything for New Year, but to be honest it did feel a bit rubbish. So since last year, I’ve decided that I’m going to make the effort and do something, anything, for the New Year and put myself in the mood to have a good time, because half of having a good time is having the mindset and the effort to have one.

New Year’s resolutions

Apart from celebrating the New Year, there is another part of New Year, which is  more important – New Year’s resolutions. Again, in the past I have never set myself New Year’s resolutions because, in my mind I felt like, well if I want to do achieve a goal I can set it anytime of the year, why do I have to do it on New Year? Plus it seemed so unoriginal to have a New Year’s resolution and then feel bad about not seeing it through, so it is better not to have one in the first place right?

Goals for 2012

However this year I was inspired to write a list of all the goals I want to achieve in 2012. According to a Psychologies article in the January issue, to have a successful list of goals you should:

  • write a specific list of goals that you want to achieve in the forthcoming year.  Write as many as possible and don’t think about it too much, just write whatever comes to mind
  • wait 24 hours, before going back to it and adding more goals to it if you wish
  • choose five things on the list that are most important to you and those will be the ones you will do your best to achieve in 2012
  • propel yourself forward to the end of 2012 and visualise the year as you had wanted it to happen. Than go back through the steps you had to take and start plotting how to achieve these goals
  • make a six box system – create six imaginary boxes, five of them representing your five main goals and the sixth box is for non-goal orientated urgent tasks, but it shouldn’t be over crowded as to distract you from your main five goals. Put tasks into each box that will lead towards achieving your goals.
  • set aside 20 minutes each day to work on your goals
  • find a group of like-minded people that share your goals, this will help you stay motivated

So basically the bottom line of all this info is – if you want to do something – stop thinking about it and just do it!

For the first time this year I have set a list of goals to achieve in the coming year and focusing my mind on them helped me put into perspective what I actually want, because otherwise it is possible to drift through the year without a clear purpose. I will see if this approach brings results and will let you know this time next year.

Long-term goals or your own life list

What I have also done is to make a list of things I want to achieve in the long term. This also helped me focus and think about what I want and to take the steps to doing it. If not anything else then at least by writing these goals down, your mind will subconsciously start working towards them.

It’s a great idea to have a ‘Bucket’ list of your own and list all the things you want to do in your life and then look back at it once in a while and tick or add to it. To get motivated and see how to make a good list that you will stick to, you can look at David’s advice and list or John Goddard’s list, which are both extensive and inspiring.

There has been talk of 2012 being the end of the world as predicted by the Mayan calendar, but the majority opinion is that it will only be the end of the world as we know it and big changes will affect our world, so let’s get ready for whatever is coming or not coming, and really achieve as many of our dreams as we can in 2012 and beyond.

In the meantime I’d love to know what your secret is to having a good time on New Year’s and what your resolutions are for 2012?

I hope that however this New Year’s Eve turned out to be for you, that all your goals, dreams and wishes will be fulfilled in the coming year.

Love,

Maia

About Maia

My name is Maia, I live in London, UK, and I originally come from the Czech Republic. Maia's World is my blog where I write about life in general, personal development, and about ideas, beliefs and discoveries on how to live a fuller life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

