Films that make you think

Nowadays it is a rarity to see a film that really makes you think or inspires you to do something, that’s why I usually prefer reading books.

Some films and and books are purely a source of entertainment and relaxation, but they are even better for me when I can actually learn something new from them or get a different perspective.

There are so many times when I’ve watched a film and thought that I’ve just wasted two hours of my life, when I could have been doing something productive.

However recently I watched a film that did make me think. It was Melancholia by Danish director Lars von Trier, which stars Kirsten Dunst and Charlotte Gainsbourg. Melancholia was about the end of the world, when a rogue planet Melancholia would hit the earth and the world would end. It’s about two sisters, one who is in depression Justine (Kirsten Dunst) and one who is taking care of her  Claire (Charlotte Gainsbourg). The depressed sister remained calm at the thought of the impending collision, while the healthy sister panicked. In the film Claire has a child whom she wants to protect and Justine builds a ‘magic cave’ out of sticks for them to all sit in as the planet hits the earth and they are incarcerated.  Justine and the little boy close their eyes and remain calm as this happens, whereas Claire is distraught throughout.

The end of the world as we know it scenario, made me think about, mainly how insignificant we all are compared to the universe and how insignificant our daily worries and concerns are in the grand scheme of things. The whole vision just makes you want to go quit your job and do crazy things so you can engage in something meaningful instead of day – to – day routines. However, when faced with reality this can be difficult. This is why it is a good idea as David Cain suggests to always have a goal, one big thing on the horizon planned to look forward to and to break up our daily routines and another reason to have a ‘Bucket list’ of things that you want to do and achieve in the future. That way you will always be thinking for example, yes today is just another day, but in the summer I’m going to be in Australia.

Do you have a film that made you think recently, or any favourite films in general? What’s your next big thing on your horizon?

About Maia

My name is Maia, I live in London, UK, and I originally come from the Czech Republic. Maia's World is my blog where I write about life in general, personal development, and about ideas, beliefs and discoveries on how to live a fuller life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Films that make you think

  1. Eva says:

    Well I think you should live now and enjoy it,not in the future,where everything looks nice and shiny.Goal is nice but everyday life is even nicer. It depends on your choice.

  2. Martina says:

    Hi Maria! Great article, ..and yes – something to be looking forward to – that’s the only way how to survive this day to day work around my baby:) Hopefully, we’ll be going to L.A. soon.
    Take care,

    atb
    m

  3. Maia says:

    Martina, going to LA is a great plan. I sure that’s keeping you excited 🙂

  4. Have you seen The Tree of Life? It is interesting to contrast it with Melancholia. The movies are similar. Both have an emphasis on image, mood and music above narrative, and I think both elevate film as an art (I felt almost as if I was in a museum admiring a great painting while watching these films). However, they could not have more different outlooks.

    I also recommend Another Earth. It is a thought provoking, indie film on infinite possibility, all of the what ifs that lead up to an event. What if we had made different choices? The main character agonizes over this, but the sense of responsibility she has which fuels her agony also makes her a loving person.

    • Maia says:

      Hi Jeremiah,

      thank you for commenting. I did actually start watching the Tree of Life on a plane journey once but couldn’t quite focus on it. Will have to watch it again when I’m in an artsy mood, as well as Another Earth.

      Thank you for the reccomendations!

Leave a Reply

