Back to work…almost

After three and half months of not working, I am finally going back to work next week.

I have to say I have enjoyed having the long break, and I am grateful that I was able to do it, while looking for a job that I really wanted to do and not having to just take something because I needed the money.

I can’t say I was bored. I kept myself busy job hunting and going for long walks in the park, as well as reading the paper and having cappuccinos in local cafes. It might be a struggle adapting to the 9 – 5 again, but I have to say that I am actually looking forward to it. It will be nice to have a purpose again, as after actually having found the job, it felt as if I needed a new project to focus on. Plus, most importantly, I’m actually starting to run out of money.

I did work on my blog and started a new blog about food and I also finished writing the second draft of my novel. So I would definitely recommend that if you are writing something, or working on a project which is not a part of your work, that it’s great to take some time off (like a week) and focus on that project. You can get loads done.

I also took on some paid work in my sabbatical, especially as I wasn’t sure when my next pay check was coming. I was lucky enough to have the opportunity to do marketing once a week for a charity and for a cafe and gallery, which gave me an idea of what marketing work would entail and reassured me that this is the career path I want to follow. I also got lots of translation work, just at the time I needed it and which I never usually get, which gave me almost a full month’s salary.

I had an amazing time in the country back home and was able to relax and see my family and friends for almost a month, which is an opportunity which I might not get for a long time.

All in all it was a great opportunity to get a break from work and even though it was a slightly daunting journey to begin with, in the end I believe that everything happens for a reason and it all fit into place perfectly. Sometimes we just have to trust that things will work out well in the end and if we trust and take things one step at a time events fall into place and take us into different and new directions.

Bon voyage!

About Maia

My name is Maia, I live in London, UK, and I originally come from the Czech Republic. Maia's World is my blog where I write about life in general, personal development, and about ideas, beliefs and discoveries on how to live a fuller life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Back to work…almost

  1. Hakam Hefny says:

    Not everyone is capable of being positive as you were in between jobs, glad you had a nice break and good luck with your new work 🙂

Leave a Reply

