“Whatever you fight, you strengthen, and what you resist, persists.” ~Eckhart Tolle

I like this quote by Eckhart Tolle, I’m not quite sure how it works, but I do feel that every time I try to fight something or someone, even if it is technically working for a good cause, I somehow end up feeling frustrated and don’t feel like I am achieving anything.

For example someone says something insulting or wrong on Facebook. In the past, I have gone and commented on them trying to make them see the other side of the coin. I guess there is something in everyone that wants us to have the last word and for us to be in the right, that’s why after we’ve started a discussion it’s so hard to back down and you just end up getting more and more wound up and you don’t usually change anyone’s mind about anything, because it’s in this forceful context. So now whenever I see something I don’t like on Facebook, I just stay quiet. Is that wrong? I don’t know, but really I don’t want to create more negativity for me and others by adding to it.

Recently I’ve started an eight week meditation course, which I will write more about when I complete it, but a part of meditation I’ve learnt, is accepting what there is – your emotions, a situation, your thoughts. By trying to fight them we only strengthen them by getting angry, sad or frustrated, but by accepting even the bad things and observing them instead we become disassociated with them and they loosen their hold over us. Thoughts and emotions are like clouds passing across the sky of your mind. Sometimes it’s cloudy and sometimes it’s clear.

Say, if I’m meditating and thoughts or emotions triggered by thoughts keep popping into my head. If I get annoyed at myself or try to suppress them they become even more prominent, but if I acknowledge them and let them be, they slowly disappear.

For example when you are stuck in the rain you can either curse the weather and get annoyed with it or you can accept it, even though you might not exactly be loving it. Either way you’ll get wet, but you’ll have a worse experience if you get annoyed rather than if you accept it and you might even find something to like about it.

I feel the same when it comes to say ‘the war on poverty’ or the ‘war against crime’ it creates a stronger opposition to your cause, perhaps it’s just the way it’s phrased puts a negative connotation in my mind. I’d rather be working towards peace, or creating abundance for everyone, instead of using negative expressions.

 

 

 

 

About Maia

My name is Maia, I live in London, UK, and I originally come from the Czech Republic. Maia's World is my blog where I write about life in general, personal development, and about ideas, beliefs and discoveries on how to live a fuller life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

