Seize the moment

So many options to choose from…

Frans Johansson a public strategist suggests that the biggest factor governing success is randomness. It’s not as much your talent, goals or persistence, but in how you welcome randomness into your life and follow different paths to what you have already followed.

The book is called The Click Moment: Seizing Opportunity in an Unpredictable World and I read about it in the November 2012 Psychologies. It reiterates what I’ve often felt that sometimes you hear or see something or your friend or someone you meet gives you a suggestion or you have a thought or instinct that you should do something, but you don’t know why, it just feels right and then you just have to go with it.

For example I had this feeling when my friend suggested  I try out rowing. I suddenly thought oh yes there is a river near my house where they row and it felt like I should do it. After my taster course I felt like joining the learning to race rowing course, it just felt right, even though people where asking me why do I want to commit so much time to it so suddenly, but I just do. What will come of it is still to be seen.  I have these instincts about people, jobs and ideas I get. I try to be open to everything and see where it takes me. Although sometimes it can be a bit exhausting as you can’t always say yes to everything, you have to follow your instincts and choose those things that you most feel could expose you to new experiences, ideas and opportunities. Because let’s face it you aren’t that likely to get those ‘aha moments’ doing the same things, going to the same places and seeing the same people as you have day in and day out.

Embrace randomness

The author’s message is that even though the idea that your life’s success depends on chance might be disturbing to some people, you can actually use it to your advantage by saying yes to random requests and seeking randomness out as much as you can.

A famous example is when Stephanie Meyer had the idea for the bestselling Twilight novel in her dream and she just started writing. The same goes for EL James and her Fifty Shades of Grey, she just had the idea for the story and went ahead and did it. Now some of you might not be fans of the above two authors, but there is no denying that they had massive success in what they did.

Create more click moments:

1.       Take you eye off the ball – let unplanned suggestions and ideas come into your life and follow them, don’t always go blindly after your goal.

 2.       Throw out your routine- if you put yourself into new situations and new environments that will increase your chances of getting lucky.

 3.       Feed your mind new treats – watch different TV shows and buy different magazines – allow yourself to follow up on things that you’re curious about – that’s where intuition lies.

4.       Celebrate when things don’t go to plan – look around to see who you could start up a conversation with or what could spark a new train of thought.

 5.       Reflect on past successes  – how did you make the key decisions in your life, was it careful planning or randomness.

6.        Think like a romantic – the only area where people usually think randomness is normal is in their romantic lives.  We accept randomness in our love lives – which is the most important factor in your life, but strangely we don’t like to think it runs other areas of our lives.

About Maia

My name is Maia, I live in London, UK, and I originally come from the Czech Republic. Maia's World is my blog where I write about life in general, personal development, and about ideas, beliefs and discoveries on how to live a fuller life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Seize the moment

  1. I like this thought. It suggests that we not try to control so much in our lives but to allow unpredictable things to happen. Break out of habitual patterns. Do things without needing a specific reason — just do them for the heck of it. I also like the idea because it’s counterintuitive and unconventional. Do you think it’s also saying to listen to your subconscious more, and on our conscious pragmatic self less?

    • Maia says:

      Hi Rusty, actually think it is counter intuitive but intuitive at the same time. Sometimes something new just feels right and sometimes not so much, and intuition is linked to our subconsciousness. I guess it means stop doing the same thing all the time and explore different paths in your life.

Leave a Reply

