Writing is my flow

‘I never know what I think about something, until I read what I’ve written on it.’

William Faulkner

I couldn’t agree more with this quote. Writing for me is also a kind of therapeutic, or flow experience, where I just start writing, without planning what I want to write.

At school when we had to write an essay on a topic or do a piece of creative writing, there were always two groups of people. Those who planned exactly what they were going to write before they started, and those who just started writing and see where it took them. I was definitely in the second group.

Often, I would have a vague idea about what I wanted to write about, and then I’d just start writing and see what came out. Writing something down makes you start thinking systematically about it and you start neatly categorising your thoughts by writing them down on paper. If you’re writing a story, it starts taking on a life of its own.  I spoke to someone who is working on a novel recently and she told me ‘I was writing about a character and it really surprised me how he turned out to be in the end, I thought he would be just a marginal figure, but he became one of the most interesting characters in the novel, I can’t wait to see how his story will end.’ There’s something fascinating about this process as if you weren’t the person who was writing but rather something took over and was writing for you as your imagination begins to develop the story and guide your hand.

As with many worthwhile things it can be hard to start writing. Every time it’s time to write a new blog post, report, or personal statement I keep putting it off, whiling my time away and putting off starting writing. But the trick is to open up your notepad (or a new Word document in my case) and start writing the first sentence you think of and then just let yourself write. Keep writing and see what comes out. Sometimes you start off well and then suddenly the words dry up and you’re stuck in a dead end, but somehow you keep going until you get a second wind.

While writing you experience a sense of flow and when it’s done you’re proud that you’ve done it and when you look at the clock, once you start it actually takes very little time to get a lot done, the key is just to start. It’s like exercise, or taking on a new project, or forcing yourself to go out to the pub with your friends when it’s raining outside and your warm sofa feels so comfortable. Once you actually do it, you have fun and you’re glad you did it.

Sometimes you worry about if what you’re doing is any good, but in the end you just enjoy it and that’s what matters. It’s important not to over think too much otherwise you’d end up not doing anything and get bogged down by the details.

And before you know it another blog post is done…

About Maia

My name is Maia, I live in London, UK, and I originally come from the Czech Republic. Maia's World is my blog where I write about life in general, personal development, and about ideas, beliefs and discoveries on how to live a fuller life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Writing is my flow

  1. An apt description indeed… The joy of discovery comes to those who dare venture, and see where things take them, perhaps where the inner being wants to go. For those who merely want to write or experience inside the box, their world stays highly predictable and safe. But when was life supposed to be about a game of secure moves? A controlled outcome need not be attained only through precision. A healthy dose of chaotic wisdom works wonders on its own, eh?

Leave a Reply

